Their families, with the help and guidance of our Elementary Faith Formation team and catechists lead children preparing to receive the Sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist. Through the Sacramental Preparation process, all involved are given the opportunity to grow deeper in faith together.

Catholic ReconciliationFirst Reconciliation

Guidelines put forth by our Bishops concerning baptized children, specify that the Sacrament of Reconciliation should be received prior to First Communion. At Resurrection, the preparation for these sacraments traditionally begin in the Fall of Grade 2 and requires parental involvement in meetings, workshops and the completion of sacramental preparation materials at home. Older children who request these Sacraments are provided with age-appropriate preparation materials and participate in other formational activities as outlined by the Director.

Parent Information Session (please choose one day and time to attend from these three choices):

  • Tuesday, October 17, 2017 @ 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 18, 2017 @ 3:30pm
  • Saturday, October 21, 2017 @ 9:30am

Parent and Child Session ~ God's Love and Mercy ~ Sunday, January 21, 2018 from 11:45-1:30pm

 

First Reconciliation

Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 10:00am with a reception to follow

 

First CommunionFirst Communion

All First Communicants and their families are expected to:

  • Participate in faith formation process for a minimum of two consecutive years
  • Participate in our weekly Sunday worship
  • Participate fully in our Parish Children's Faith Formation
  • Attend parent and children's sessions, workshops, and retreats
  • Complete all in-home sacramental materials
  • Celebrate the Sacrament of First Reconciliation prior to the celebration of First Communion
  • Together with the Pastor and Director, assess the child's readiness for the celebration of First Communion.

Parent Information Session (please choose one day and time to attend from these three choices):

  • Tuesday, February 6, 2018 @ 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 7, 2018 @ 3:30pm
  • Saturday, February 10, 2018 @ 9:30am

Rite of Recognition ~ Sunday, March 4, 2018 @ 10:30am Mass Followed by Parent and Child Session, Speaker, John Lamperis - 11:45am-1:30pm

Parent and Child Retreat ~ Sunday, April 8, 2018 @ 1:30-4:00pm

Celebration of First Communion

Two weekends have been set aside for the celebration of First Communion. Parents will be given the opportunity to request, in order of preference, a First Communion date from the Masses below. Rehearsals are the Tuesday evenion prior at 5:30 / 6:30 pm.

Tentative dates/times:

  • Saturday, April 28 at 4:00pm
  • Sunday, April 29 at 10:30am
  • Saturday, May 5 at 4:00pm
  • Sunday, May 6 at 10:30am